A Compass Rose is a circle showing the principal directions printed on a map or chart.

This blog is about the direction my life is taking at any particular time, and like I’ve stated before I would like to go in a new direction with it. So, here is what I have decided to do:

Right now, April 2011, I am in the beginning stages of writing & illustrating a new book.
Without actually realizing it, I’ve been working on this for several decades or so. I first started using these creativity pages while teaching art for Kindergarten thru 8th grades. I enjoyed making my own curriculum…and I also occasionally needed an extra activity for the kids who were quicker and needed to go a little further.
At the same time I was illustrating for a children’s magazine doing a monthly “Draw Pages” and I kept the rights to all of my work.

Now, I am gathering all of my artworks and lessons and compiling and re-illustrating to make a book called: RAINY DAYS & SUNDAYS: Creativity Boosters & Art Lessons for Kids and their Grown-ups!
This blog will (for the next few months) be a journal of how I do the work, and my thoughts during the work…and a finish of each page that you, the reader can download and try out for yourself.
And maybe even post one or two of your illustrations here.

I hope that you can join me on this journey.   ~Rose

PS: If you haven’t already, sign up in the subscribe box to be eligible to win a copy of the book, due out in late October early November 2011.

Leave a Reply

